Dispatch wins best Ohio newspaper, website in annual contest – Columbus Dispatch

For the fourth time in five years, The Dispatch was named Ohio’s best large daily newspaper in
the annual Ohio Associated Press Media Editors competition, announced on Sunday.

The newspaper’s website, Dispatch.com, was named best in Ohio for the second year in a row, and
the paper received nine other first-place nods, including awards for investigative and public
service reporting.

“These awards reflect the work of an extremely talented staff,” said Dispatch Editor Alan D.
Miller. “They also reflect a continued commitment by The Dispatch to uphold high standards in
journalism and deliver accurate, compelling stories to our readers every day — online, on mobile
devices and in print.

“Given the number of strong news organizations in Ohio,” Miller said, “it’s a tremendous honor
to win the top awards for public service reporting, investigative reporting, best website and best

The Dispatch took 31 awards at the Ohio APME annual conference and luncheon on Sunday, and 11
were first-place awards, including general excellence for print and for “best digital presence” for
Dispatch.com. The Dispatch also was awarded firsts for best daily sports section, best special
sports section for “College Football National Championship Preview” and best public service for its
series about suicide, “Silent Suffering.”

Individual first-place awards went to Dan Gearino for best business reporter, Barb Carmen for
best editorial writer, Charlie Zimkus for best graphic artist, Rob Oller for best sports columnist,
Lucas Sullivan for best investigative reporting and Kyle Robertson for best sports photo.

Alissa Widman Neese, who joined The Dispatch staff in April, won two first-place awards for her
work at The Sandusky Register: best news writer and best feature writer.

Second-place awards went to Jim Weiker for best business writer; Misti Crane for best feature
writer; Todd Jones, both for best sports writer and best sports feature writer; Eamon Queeney for
best photographer; Rita Price, both for best sports enterprise reporting and best explanatory
reporting; Fred Squillante for best feature photo; Courtney Hergesheimer for best video;
Encarnacion Pyle for public service; and Dispatch staff for best spot news coverage, for “Marriage
for all.”

Taking third place were Ben Sutherly for business writing; Holly Zachariah for feature writing;
Reid Brown, best graphics artist; Bill Rabinowitz, best sports feature writer; Zimkus for an
illustration or informational graphic; Queeney, best news photo, Eric Albrecht, best feature photo;
Barbara Perenic, best photo story; and Jill Riepenhoff and Jennifer Smith Richards for best
investigative reporting.

Entries in the large-newspaper category were judged by editors from The Gazette in Cedar Rapids,

The Associated Press is a nonprofit news cooperative representing 1,400 newspapers and 5,000
broadcast stations in the U.S. Eighty-five daily newspapers in Ohio are members of AP.




Write a Reply or Comment:

Your email address will not be published.*